July 22nd 2011

I am in a state of collective mourning.

The shell shocking events in Oslo and at Utøya July 22 2011 has left me numb. I had so many plans for that weekend, but ended up sitting glued to the TV, with the radio and computer on, wanting to know everything about this horrible horrible situation.

I did not know any of the victims. Or, at least I don’t think I do as the police haven’t released all of the victim’s names. Two boys were from my home town.

But still, this was a violent act of terror intended to hurt my people, my country and all that I stand for: democracy, openess, love, as the PM and Mayor of Oslo expressed.

My poor little, country.

«There are so few of us in this country, every fallen man is a brother or a friend.» (N.Grieg.)

Usually I have no problems expressing myself. In writing or orally. But it has now taken me 5 days to write this, and even now I am lacking words. I can not even begin to pretend to know what the victim’s families and friends are going through at the moment. And not just the family and friends of the people who lost their lives. Those who escaped the fake policeman will most certainly need all the support they can get.

I will attend my town’s parade in memory of all the victims. It is tonight at 18:00, and I feel like crying just thinking about it. I work at the historical museum which is situated right next to where the parade will end up. There’s already full activity there to set up the necessary equipment. My Mom has bought roses; one each, to show that love conquers hate.

There has been a wave of love over Norway these last five days. I, a self declared half-cynic, feel I have been hit full on by this wave, and I can’t seem to express enough how much I love my family, friends and country. I just hope this spirit of togetherness and kindness will continue to grip us in decades to come.

Not long ago I told someone that, a gullible thought or not, I thought that the world would be a better place if  we just were kinder to eachother. I think this sentiment must be shared by many Norwegians as we now see how we as a people have reacted to this tragedy.

My thoughts are with the victims, the survivors, their families and friends, the volunteers, the professional helpers and everyone else who have been affected by this.

Maria Mena’s «My Little Country»

«No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.»
Aesop, The Lion and the Mouse
Greek slave & fable author (620 BC – 560 BC)

 

2 kommentarer

  1. God Bless you and the Norwegian people.
    My thoughts and infinite good-will go to everyone tragically touched by this tragedy.
    Be strong!
    All the very best

    Marianna

    • Thank you


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Legg igjen en kommentar

