Here I go again…

Well, it’s been a while.

I can safely say that things have happened since the last time I blogged, but I’m not going to bore you with details. I’ll mention some of the big happenings, though!

First, as some of you might notice, I’m suddenly blogging in English. The reason for this is simple: I am moving to Canada and want to start practising my English writing skills. The moving to Canada part is one of the big happenings I’ll mention.

So, what has happened lately?

Well, I no longer live in Trondheim. That part is actually a bit sad since Trondheim is an excellent city with great people and beautiful surroundings.

Since I no longer live there, I also no longer study at NTNU – Norwegian university of science and technology, which is also a bit sad. I really miss my fellow students, Gengangere (the student union), riss (the student periodical) and «my» study room.

Sounds like I’m very sad, but I’m not! See how happy I am —>😀

I study Comparative Literature, and when I finished my Bachelor’s degree (Bachelorette’s Degree?) I thought «why not go for my Master’s degree abroad?». Som sagt, så gjort (as said, as done in Norwenglish). I found a perfect program, applied and got in :D! (<— see how happy I am here too)

So, as of August 2011 I’ll be a Canwegian/Noradian living in St. Catharines, Ontario, studying comparative literature & arts at Brock University.

Other big happenings: I travelled around the UK for 5 weeks (met some great people) and went to Egypt for Christmas. I love travelling.

In the middle of this my beautiful mom was diagnosed with Wegener’s, or Wegener’s granulomatosis. It’s a serious and rare condition, but my mom has been very lucky: the only place she is affected is in the vessels of her nose. Still, she has to undergo chemotherapy and do the pill-cocktail-party every morning.

But my mom is a fighter, and even on her worst days she is positive, smiling and brave. The first time she forgot her cellphone in the fridge (the condition and/or the treatment makes her forget things), we didn’t know if it was ok to laugh. It was, and she is filled with gallows humor. The treatment  will most likely last for years, but we are positive that she’ll be cured.

I went to Toronto! Wow, I absolutely love that city.

Well, I think that’s enough for now.

1 kommentar

  1. […] Like I’ve told you before my Mom is sick, so leaving her will be the downside to this. But since the doctors have told us that it  will take years of treatment, I’m taking the chance of going away. After all, I’m only a few hours by plane away. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Legg igjen en kommentar

